Home > Bone Tissue Engineering > Animal testing: Cosmetics and Fur?

Animal testing: Cosmetics and Fur?

Again we continue with the ethical aspect of animal testing. A few days ago I saw the posters of GAIA in the train station of Leuven. Maybe you saw them too? If not you can check them here. I also recommend you to look at the video.

200-IssuesClothingFurAnimalsRaccoon

Now, everyone knows what is going on and I do not think I have to tell you. But what can be really interesting is to know how we (all members of this blog group) think about this next statements. I made the statements, but it does not imply that it is true for me.

1) Cosmetics should never be tested on animals. (link)

2) Someone who buys bond is an animal hater and/or an asshole.

3) Someone who wears bond is an animal hater and/or an asshole.

Please comment short but clear and separately (just number 1,2,3) for each statement.

Fur_Carcasses_Sergey_Maximishin2

Video

Thank you and I am looking forward to the discussion!

  1. 26/02/2013 at 14:02

    1) I’m don’t exactly know how the testing procedures are, but as cosmetics are not really necessary and have mostly an effect only on the surface (skin, hair,…), I can imagine that there are in most cases alternative methods for most tests now.
    2 and 3) don’t have a lot of difference for me. I don’t like fur myself and I’m against the bad treatment of animals, but for me fur shouldn’t be outlawed in general. I would prefer that the animal is eaten afterwards though, which I’m not sure is done with mink.

  2. xieaizhi
    28/02/2013 at 16:49

    1. I agree on this one. People can make artificial skin to test cosmetics instead of testing them on animals.
    2. and 3. Sometimes , we need to wear leather shoes. I don’t know if we should not totally wear fur or just a few species?

  3. 01/03/2013 at 15:18

    I agree with Wim on this one.
    1) It seems to me that indeed in most cases other test methods are possible and therefore it is not needed to do animal testing
    2 and 3) There is no reason people should not buy or wear fur but off course I do not approve bad treatment of animals.

    • 02/03/2013 at 20:13

      1) Cosmetics should never be tested on animals.
      As a girl, I can not say that cosmetics are not necessary. Yes, some of them have just an effect on the skin, but others have an effect on the cells of your face for example. Like the ‘facial creams’ have an effect on the hydrating effect of your face, due to which your face gives a healthier look. But it does not means that all those cosmetic material should be tested on animals. If there are alternative methods, like Wim said, you should use them, in stead of animals.
      2) 3) Someone who buys/wears bond is an animal hater and/or an asshole.
      If you buy or wear bond, it does not means that you are an animal hater. I agree with the opinion of Sven.

  4. michaeltijskens
    03/03/2013 at 18:25

    1) There are other methods to test this, so definitely a no for me.
    2) and 3) I think this is a bit hypocrite, we all eat meat, so when an animal is killed for it’s meat, one might as well use it’s skin for shoes or something like that.

    Like Prabhjot said: “If you buy or wear bond, it does not means that you are an animal hater.” I totally agree.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

